Badminton

Badminton logo

Queen Mary Badminton Club (QMBC) play and train throughout the academic year.

We currently have two Men’s team, one Women’s team and one Mixed team competing nationally at BUCs and LUSL. Team members train up to twice a week with a world class coach. Come and join us if you’re interested.

We also have sessions allocated each week for social players. We provide shuttles and have a few rackets we can lend you, however it is best if you have your own rackets, as they are high in demand. Being part of the social team, you’ll be invited to all social events throughout the year as well.

Burn calories, meet new people, beat your friends...but most importantly have fun!!!

Join our Facebook page for information and updates.

Taster Sessions

Format
Men’s and Women’s trials. An online, first come first serve, sign up sheet will be posted on our Facebook Page. New members will be prioritised and given a free taster session.


What do you need to bring?
Racket and sports kit.


Selection process
You will be assessed by our team captains and club President. We assess your range of skills and team working abilities. Not just your ability to win.


What are the next steps if you are selected?
You will be invited to the second round of trials, where you will be further assessed by our coach. The final team list will be posted onto our Facebook page.


What happens if you are not selected?
We have a second round of Trials in January. Join our Development and Social squads for extra practice. The team list will change throughout the year as not every team members can attend every match. Commitment is key, so do not give up.


Competitions 

Queen Mary Badminton compete in BUCS and LUSL

BUCS League matches are to be played mostly on Wednesday afternoon in The Copperbox Arena, Mixed (LUSL) League matches are to be played on the weekend. 

Social members, come and play whenever you like.

Recreational Badminton

QMSU also offers Get Active badminton sessions for just £2.50 per session and open to all abilities. It's a fun, social, turn up and play programme, visit the Get Active site for more information.

How to get involved

  1. Join the Facebook group and get in contact with the club committee members.
  2. Attend the taster session - this first session is free!
  3. Purchase your subs - at the Hub (Mile End), BLSA reception (Whitechapel) or online.
  4. Enjoy! Take part in the sessions, and compete in the matches.

Contact Details

President: Sok Boon Seah (s.seah@hss16.qmul.ac.uk)

Vice-President: Benson Chang (b.c.a.chang@se16.qmul.ac.uk)

Treasurer: Omar Chan Khan (o.c.khan@se16.qmul.ac.uk)

Events and RAGS Officer: Jocelyn Cheng (j.c.h.cheng@hss17.qmul.ac.uk)

Social Officer: Janadhip Rai (j.rai@hss17.qmul.ac.uk)

Women's 1st Team Captain: Gemma McGuire (g.mcguire@qmul.ac.uk)

Men's 1st Team Captain: Nejc Ceplak (n.ceplak@qmul.ac.uk)

Men's 2nd Team Captain: Hangsa Limbu (h.limbu@hss17.qmul.ac.uk)

Mixed Team Captain: Kavya Kumar (k.kumar@hss18.qmul.ac.uk) 

Elections

No elections are currently running

Join

Please log in to join this organisation.

Products / Tickets

Please login to purchase products.